I Still Believe

(Writing Prompt: Take a quote from your favorite movie. Now, write!)

I still believe in fairytales
The ones we used
To tell each other
While lying under the tree

After all this time?

Always

I still believe in happy endings
Like the one we got when
I was beast and you the beauty
In our 3rd grade play

After all this time?

Always

I still believe in forever
That there’s something beyond infinity
Just like what Buzz said
When we watched, huddled in a blanket

After all this time?

Always

I still believe I could fly
Because I felt that I can
When you gave me
The sweetest “yes”

After all this time?

Always

I still believe in magic
Because that’s what I felt
When your lips
Touched mine

After all this time?

Always

I still believe in second chances
Because we had it
When we had a
“Misunderstanding”

After all this time?

Always

I still believe in wedding rings
Because they sparkled brightly
When I put it on your finger

After all this time?

Always

I still believe that you’d be back
Because you said it
Before the plane left

After all this time?

Always

I still believe in you and me
Because I saw it
Deep in the baby’s eyes

After all this time?

Always

I still believe I’d find another
Because you said it
When you let me sign
Our divorce papers

After all this time?

Always

I still believe in crying
Because it relieved me
Of the pain
Of seeing you newly wed

After all this time?

Always

I still believe you’d wake up
When I visited you
And all of them wore
Black

After all this time?

Always

I still believe in Hades
That I could get you out of there
If only I was brave enough

After all this time?

Always

Leave a Reply

